A Little Too Excited for Fall!

I am over summer already, which is a very sad thing to say! But I am ready for fall and everything about it, including cool, perfect weather, the beginning of hockey season, hoodies and most importantly PUMPKIN!! I managed to injure myself somehow over the weekend and am unable to sit down for extended periods of time…not such a problem for a busy-body like myself! I can easily find projects in the kitchen to keep me entertained and standing! I knew I wanted to make some sort of pastry for breakfast for the week and did not have bananas or apples or any other fruit for that matter, but I did have a can of pumpkin! So pumpkin bread it was! I decided to get really daring and try out an entirely  new recipe too, one that included a cream cheese swirl in the middle. Here is what I came up with:

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Swirl Bread:

  • 1 can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin butter (or you can use oil, butter or applesauce depending on what you have)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2/3 cup oat flour (ground up oats or any other flour you have, even 1 2/3 white flour works just fine)!
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • Cream filling:
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 t flour
  • 1 egg white
  • Cinnamon sugar mix for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter or spray a loaf pan. Sift together flours, soda, cinnamon and nutmeg. In separate bowl, beat together pumpkin puree and pumpkin butter until combined. Add in brown sugar, mixing until smooth. Then add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add in dry ingredients, mixing just until incorporated. In a separate bowl, beat cream cheese until soft and fluffy. Beat in sugar until incorporated and smooth. Beat in egg white and vanilla, then flour, mixing until incorporated and smooth. Layer half the batter in the loaf pan, top with the cream filling, then rest of batter. Top with cinnamon sugar, and bake for 40 minutes. Enjoy plain or toasted with butter, apple butter or even peanut butter!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on August 30, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

