Bars, Bars, and more Bars!

So I’ve been on a bar kick lately! I was on a brownie kick there for a while and now have baked at least 10 different bar type recipes in the past two weeks! This is definitely not a bad thing, just an odd turn of events for someone who as of a few weeks ago hadn’t even really ever dabbled in baking bar recipes before! Some have turned out great, while others have seriously flopped…last night was a definite success though! The bars are a combination of marshmallow, butterscotch and of course chocolate…and they turned out sooo incredibly soft and gooey, so gooey they were almost hard to get out of the pan…and to me, that’s a good thing! I got the recipe idea from pinterest, my new favorite time passer and go-to for new ideas!

Look at all of that soft, gooey chewiness!

Chocolate Butterscotch Blondies:

adapted from Baked Perfection’s Blog

1 cup butterscotch chips
1 stick butter
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 t baking powder
dash of salt
1 1/2 t vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 bag of marshmallows
1 bag milk chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9X9 baking dish. Melt butterscotch and butter in small saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly to avoid clumping. Once melted, pour into bowl. While cooling, sift or whisk together flour, brown sugar, baking powder and vanilla. Once the butterscotch mixture is cooled, add eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated each time. Add in vanilla. Then add in dry ingredients slowly, 1/3 or so at a time until just incorporated. Fold in marshmallows and chocolate chips. Batter will be pretty thick, I had to smooth mine into the baking pan, as it did not pour! Bake for 20-25 minutes. Center will be somewhat liquidy/soft but will setup after cooling for an hour or so. I was a little nervous at just how liquidy my center was when taking them out but the top was already so browned, I did not want to risk over-cooking them, especially with my crappy oven that constantly over-cooks everything!! So I took them out and figured I’d let them sit and cool completely and see what happened and they ended up solidifying just enough to leave a perfect soft, creamy, buttery center! I think most of the extreme softness when removing from the oven was because of the melted marshmallows which hardened up a bit after cooling down. Absolutely delicious!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Bars. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

