Elvis Cupcakes!

Well they are not exactly Elvis cupcakes but they do contain peanut butter and banana! But, knowing me, I had to throw in a little bit of chocolate! I saw a pin on pinterest the other day for chocolate chip banana cupcakes and thought what a great way to use leftover bananas instead of making yet another banana bread! I also figured that bananas pair so darn well with peanut butter that why not top the cupcakes with that ever so delicious peanut butter frosting I have raved about more than a few times now! And as usual, I was licking that bowl clean as clean can be….most addicting frosting ever! Since we are on the topic of Elvis, I think I mentioned in the very first blog I wrote about my all time favorite sandwich…the Elvis…aka, fried peanut butter and banana! So for old times sake, I will re-post that recipe so I can reminisce since it’s been a while since I’ve made one…until this weekend when I change that!

Chocolate Chip Banana Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • Dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temp
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs, room temp
  • 2 bananas
  • Bag of chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate because it’s all I had but dark would be amazing as well)…dust with a tablespoon of flour

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Sift or whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl or stand mixer bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Add in eggs one at a time, beating until incorporated. Add in milk and vanilla, then mashed banana. Slowly beat in dry ingredients until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips and fill muffin pan 3/4 of the way full. Bake for 15-17 minutes.

These turned out to taste absolutely amazing however, I can’t believe I am about to even say this, but I added in too much chocolate! Even dusted with flour, all the chocolate clumped together and sank to the bottom of the cupcake (as evidenced in the photo)! The delicious chocolatiness was great with the banana and peanut butter but it made for a very dense, heavy cupcake with a glob of chocolate at the bottom!

And as promised, my famous, delicious, most-amazing sandwich recipe ever: (sidenote, measurements are difficult to predict here since I just make this willy-nilly whenever I have a craving so change them up as you feel fit, these are just approximations anyways)!

The Elvis:

  • 1 Banana, sliced
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 T butter
  • Peanut butter
  • 2 slices sturdy bread
  • 2 T butter

Melt butter in a frying pan over medium-high heat. Add in bananas and sugar, cooking until bananas are caramelized from the sugar. Meanwhile, while those are cooking up, spread peanut butter on two slices of bread and butter on the other…I realized this is difficult but I usually do the butter first then set that side down on the plate and add the peanut butter to the other sides. It doesn’t matter if some of the butter smears off onto the plate since you will be adding more to the pan anyways! Remove from pan, leaving any liquid in pan and lower heat to medium low. Add a few more tablespoons of butter into the pan and let melt. Add one of the slices, butter side down into the pan and top with the caramelized bananas. Finish the sandwich with the other slice of bread, peanut butter side down and cook until both sides are browned, flipping once! Another option is to sprinkle some sugar onto the buttered sides of the bread to add a nice brown caramelization to it as well. Absolute heaven in your mouth, trust me!!

 

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

