Italia!

Wow it’s been a while since I’ve posted! However, I do have a great excuse…I was in Italy for two weeks! And unfortunately for me, when I returned, I got a horrible cold that I am still fighting, so my apologies for the delay! Italy was absolutely amazing, even more so than I ever dreamed. We flew into Florence, went to Monterosso (part of the Cinque Terre), then headed to Siena, Cortona, then Rome, then Sorrento and finally ended in Positano on the Amalfi Coast! It was a trip to remember, that’s for sure! Josh and I took the advice of a few friends and family that had been before us and kept a journal of all the places we ate at so we can always remember, in case we ever make it back or get to give any other lucky travelers advice! My favorite food was through the Tuscany/Chianti region where we got to feast on things like wild boar stew, duck and/or rabbit ragu, truffled everything and different things like that…my ‘least favorites’ (since that really isn’t true, everything was scrumptious) were in the big cities such as Florence and Rome where everything seemed to be the same…however you can never go wrong in my book with fresh, homemade pasta! We were right outside the truffle capital of the world so we got to enjoy the freshest, most delicious truffle dishes ever…not like the ones here where they just douse everything in tons of truffle oil and call it ‘truffled!’ One of our favorite places, one we ended up eating twice at (something we absolutely swore we would not do but the pizza was just too fabulous not to) was a place called Pizzeria Aurora in Sorrento. When you were served your amazingly thin and crispy pizza that was oozing with melty, fresh buffalo mozzarella, they brought you a pepperoncini oil to the table instead of regular plain olive oil to sprinkle over your pizza…AMAZING! Changed my world completely, we bought 6 jars to take home…a few for ourselves and a few to give away as gifts because everyone should experience that little bit of heaven! Being along the Amalfi Coast, there was tons of fresh seafood everywhere, so if you like seafood, that is definitely the place to go! My husband had at least three different seafood pastas and loved them all! We took a cooking class in Ravello where we actually went to a fish market and picked out what we wanted to cook from what was caught that morning…great experience but wow, talk about an overwhelming smell! Lastly, one of the best parts about Italy was the wine…so delicious and abundant, I definitely have a new-found love of Chianti! We may have come back with 6 bottles of wine as well…oops! Overall, it was one of the most incredible experiences of my life so far and I cannot wait to go back…however, next time, maybe in May or October…we got some unseasonably warm weather which made for some rough site-seeing days! I am sure I am leaving out tons of things I wanted to say but I wanted to get a post out before the weekend since I’ve been dropping the ball…so more to come and everyone have a cool, safe weekend!!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

