New Obsession!

I posted about my newfound love of coconut recently, so no surprise that the obsession continues! I follow a blog called Mel’s Kitchen Cafe that I really enjoy reading and yesterday’s post was right up my alley…I just knew I had to run home and try this recipe out! It combined chocolate and coconut into a gooey bar-type brownie with a fudgy frosting sort of thing…mouth watering yet?!

Josh is obsessed with tacos and would love to have taco night at least 3 nights a week, however I apparently have been ‘slacking’ as he puts it, and we haven’t had taco night in at least two weeks!’ So in an effort to please both of us, we had taco Wednesday with coconut chocolate bars for dessert! Doesn’t matter that those two don’t seem to go together at all, we were both very pleased and let’s be honest, chocolate goes with everything!

So here’s the recipe I ended up using, slightly altering the recipe from  Mel’s Kitchen Cafe:

Chocolate Coconut Bars:

For the Bars:

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened natural cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • dash of  salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

For the topping:

  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 4 T butter,  room temp
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups coconut

Heat the oven to 350 degrees  and spray an 8×8-inch square baking pan with non-stick cooking spray. In a larger bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar until evenly combined. Add the butter (cooled so as not to scramble the egg), eggs, and vanilla, and mix until the mixture forms a stiff dough. Gently press the dough evenly into the prepared pan and set aside.

For the topping: cream together the cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Add the beaten egg and mix well, then the cocoa powder and vanilla and mix until well blended. Add the powdered sugar gradually while beating until the mixture is smooth. Fold in the coconut.

Spread the topping over the base and bake 30 minutes. The edges should be set and the center still slightly under cooked looking. Cool completely, in fact the blog says that the bars are even better cooled and chilled in the refrigerator! Of course I couldn’t wait that long and had them hot right out of the oven! My recommendation would be to let them cool slightly, as they are very difficult to cut when they are still hot and gooey! Rushing out the door this morning I completely forgot to grab one from the fridge so the anticipation all day will be killing me…I can’t wait to get home and dive into them! I’ll let you know how they are 😉

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on May 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

