Times are Blue (not really but the title is fitting)!

Living downtown Chicago during the NATO Summit has been nothing but a pain in my ass! So in an effort to avoid as much of the ruckus as possible, I ditched out on the city and spent the weekend at my parents’ house! What a great weekend it was, shopping with my mom, going out to eat, spending time with my brother, sister-in-law and two nieces, going to the taste of Glen Ellyn (something I haven’t been to in over 5 years now), and the list goes on! Aside from 4 of 8 of us getting a 24-hour flu bug, the weekend was fantastic…but always seems too short! Before I left, the fam barbecued a buffet of food in a last effort to enjoy the beautiful weather! I made some pan-fried potatoes to go with the rib-eyes, burgers and shish-kabobs!
Pan-Fried Potatoes:
  • 5 potatoes, cubed
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 shallot, diced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • cayenne pepper to taste
  • dash of onion and garlic powder
Heat oil in pan over medium-high heat until hot. Add potatoes, toss to coat with oil, add seasonings and cover pan, let cook/steam for 5 or so minutes without touching. Lift lid, stir potatoes around, cover again and let sit another 5 minutes. Repeat once more, remove lid for good, toss around and cook until desired browness. Super easy,  very tasty and healthier than french-fries!
When I finally made it home last night, I was unpacking all of the groceries I bought and stumbled across a fruit tray in the fridge that a patient generously brought us last week. Neither Josh nor I are big fans of berries (except I love strawberries, but that’s it) so those were all that were left in the tray. I absolutely hate wasting food and didn’t have the heart to throw them out…so instead, I whipped up a blueberry quick bread and saved the raspberries and blackberries for smoothies or possibly another bread!
Blueberry  Bread
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup Silk Vanilla
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • Blueberry Greek Yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
photo.JPG
Heat oven to 350. Coat 8 1/2X4 1/2 loaf pan with spray. Sift flour into a bowl, remove 1 Tbsp flour and toss with blueberries in a separate bowl. Add cornmeal, baking powder and salt to flour and mix well. In another bowl, whisk sugars with eggs, milk, yogurt, vanilla and lemon juice. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just blended; fold in blueberries. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake 40 minutes. You can add a crumb topping to this or make these as muffins as well!
About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on May 21, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Non-Bakery Items, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

