To the Core

Still trying to use up as much stuff as possible before moving and came across some old apples in the fridge…it breaks my heart to throw food out so I decided to bake a little something with them! I’ve made apple muffins and breads before and they usually turn out tasty, but I don’t ever really get any apple flavor. Just tastes like an extra moist, somewhat chunky, cinnamon cake. So this time, I decided to change it up a smidge and chop the apples into chunks instead of dicing them into tiny pieces. I found an apple turnover yogurt in the back of the fridge and decided to use that as well hoping to impart even more apple flavor (and more sugar of course)! Next time, I think I will use apple butter in place of the yogurt but I didn’t realize I had some in the fridge in time! Here’s the recipe I concocted:

IMAG0336-1.jpg       Mini Apple Loaves:

1/4 cup canola oil
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 apple turnover yogurt by Yoplait
3 eggs
1 T vanilla
3 cups flour
2 t cinnamon
1 t baking soda
pinch of salt
4 apples, cored, peeled, chopped into bigger chunks
cinnamon sugar mix

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and spray 10 mini loaf pans. Beat together oil and sugar until smooth and dissolved. Add in yogurt and then eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add in vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Mix dry ingredients with wet, just until flour is incorporated, do not over mix. Pour until loaf pans are 2/3 or so full. Sprinkle with cinnamon sugar (or you can make a crumb topping with flour, brown sugar, butter and cinnamon). Bake 23-25 minutes.

IMAG0337-1.jpg

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Breakfast. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

