Childhood memories!

I am sure you all remember oatmeal cream pies…I mean who didn’t/doesn’t love Little Debbie!? As a kid, I was not a huge fan of the oatmeal cream pies but I sure went to town on the nutty bars and  honey buns! Josh and I got into a minor argument the other day about whether or not oatmeal cream pies have raisins in the cookie portion. I swore they do and he was positive they don’t…I should have just agreed right then and there since these were one of his all time favorites growing up, not to mention just how he despises raisins…I really should have taken his word for it, but of course my stubborn ass didn’t! And much to my disliking, I was definitely wrong!

In an effort to apologize and make it up to him, I decided to make a homemade version of this special little treat….raisin free of course! For the first time in my life, I did not have fluff on hand (we are moving and I am trying not to grocery shop too much and use up as much stuff we have stored away as possible…I know, no excuses though)! Anyways, usually I would have used fluff for the filling but since I was out, I tried to become a little creative…did not work out quite as well as I hoped but it did the job! Next time, definitely using fluff and allowing more time for the filling to harden so it doesn’t leak all over when the sandwiches are assembled! I started by making regular oatmeal cookies, slightly larger than normal and letting them cool completely.

Oatmeal Cookies:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 3 cups oats

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Sift or mix together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add dry to wet ingredients, mixing just to combine. Stir in oats. Bake 8-9 minutes. Let cool on wire rack until completely cool.

Cream Filling:

  • vanilla instant pudding
  • 2 cups milk
  • 6 ounces cool whip, thawed
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 T butter

Mix together pudding and milk until thickened. Fold in cool whip, set in fridge until needed. In a separate bowl, beat together butter and cream cheese until fluffy and smooth. Beat in powdered sugar. Fold into cool whip mixture and set in fridge to harden a bit. Once set and cookies are cooled, scoop some filling onto one of the cookies and top with another. If the filling is still too runny, you can place the entire sammy in the fridge or even freezer. We froze a few and they turned out to be quite tasty, kind of similar to an ice cream sandwich cookie, but with a little crunchier of a cookie!

As I mentioned before though, I would make this with fluff next time, I think it would taste more like an original oatmeal cream pie that way, and I would definitely allow more time for the filling to set up!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

