Pops for Peanut Butter!

My best friend is getting married in May and her shower is coming up fast! I am in charge of baking some goodies for it and have been doing some experimenting as of late! My latest endeavor has been trying out different kinds of cake pops…let’s be honest, who doesn’t love cake pops?! I think I came up with a great combination the other night, now I just have to perfect my presentation skills! I used a boxed Devil’s food cake mix for the cake, but substituted milk for the water. I then used my sister-in-law’s peanut butter frosting recipe which is TO DIE FOR! I was literally force feeding this to myself by the spoonful (not recommended).

Peanut Butter Frosting:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ¾ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream

Place the confectioners’ sugar, peanut butter, butter, vanilla and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on medium-low speed until creamy, scraping down the bowl with a rubber spatula as you work. Add the cream and beat on high-speed until the mixture is light and smooth. This frosting is so fluffy, smooth and amazing, it really can be eaten all on its own!

To make the cake balls, bake the cake as directed. I used two 9″ pans to speed the process along. Let cool on a wire rack until completely cooled. Crumble the cake into a large bowl. I used a food processor to finely grind the cake (very important the cake is completely cooled for this or it’ll just stick everywhere and not grind properly). Combine about 1/2 cup of the frosting with the cake crumbs and mix until moistened. Add more frosting if needed but you want a consistency that is neither too dry and will fall apart or too moist and will be too wet and sticky! Roll into balls, place on a baking sheet or tray of sorts and refrigerate at least an hour until firm. Once firm, roll in melted chocolate of your choice and let cool/harden. Save any extra frosting for another cake or to just enjoy by itself 🙂

Emily, my best friend that is getting married, and I realized that these are even better straight out of the freezer! Obviously there is tons of fun to be had with different types of cake pops so if you come up with any combinations that you love, please share here! Pictures to come, I swear…I am terrible at documenting my little projects!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

