A little bit of green!

My husband and I are going through the process of buying our first home…exciting yes, frustrating and overwhelming, definitely! We have had to jump through quite a few hoops to get where we are now, which sadly, isn’t even where we need to be! After quite the roller coaster ride of way too many ups and downs, I think we are finally coming to a stop at a high point! Yesterday morning seemed to be the last straw for me though, when my husband called me to tell me of another bunch of documents I would need to accumulate and send in….this was, without exaggeration, the eight time this has happened and the last three were ‘definitely the last things we need!’ Needless to say, the extra stress led to some baking this morning! Now, with the house looking like more of a reality and some time to cool off, I made a delicious pistachio cake (his favorite) as an apology to my hard-working, loving husband who has jumped through more hoops than I have but kept himself together way better than I have!!

IMAG0312-1.jpg

Pistachio Bread/Cake:

  • 1 box white cake mix
  • 1 box pistachio pudding
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • Cinnamon sugar mixture
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • dash of cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. For the crumble topping, mix flour, oats, brown sugar and cinnamon together. Cut in the butter, with two knives, a fork or a pastry blender and set aside. In another bowl, mix all of the ingredients, except the cinnamon sugar mixture, together and blend well. Pour half of the batter into the pan of your choice, top with the cinnamon sugar mixture. Pour rest of batter over top and add cinnamon sugar crumble to top (or you can just add more cinnamon sugar). Bake for 40-60 minutes, depending on the pan you chose. For a loaf pan, about 55 minutes, a 9 inch cake pan, about 45 minutes, muffins or mini loaves about 20 minutes.

IMAG0311-1.jpg

I used a heart-shaped cake pan and had some batter left over so I made a few heart-shaped mini loaves, well 6 to be exact, but I ate three of them already, oops! These are great for breakfast or you can even use a cream cheese frosting instead of a crumble for more of a cake! Delicious any way you eat it!! We love this recipe so much that I actually made 150 mini loaves to put in the gift bags for out-of-town guests at our wedding…it’s that easy and that good!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on February 8, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Breakfast, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

