This S*** is Bananas!

So my last post was dedicated to my grandma that just passed away….thought it would all kind of be in the past once the wake and funeral were over but forgot about aftermath post-funeral; going through her belongings, recipes, seeing her name in my recent calls, etc. No fun but on the bright side, at least she’s got some good stuff to have shared with us now to remember her by! On another sad note, my other gram, the one I talked about in the beginning of starting this blog, the big baker/chef I have learned just about everything about food from just suffered from a stroke this past Sunday and scared us all to no end! She is home and doing much better, things are looking great for her, a full recovery is expected with the help of some speech therapy! So needless to say, things haven’t exactly been going well here in 2012 but they are on the up and up, that’s for sure!

In light all of this negative stuff, I have been baking like no other! Just Tuesday, I baked 3 banana bread loaves alone! And with gram’s stoke being partially due to high blood pressure and cholesterol, I wanted to show the family that you can bake healthier stuff that still tastes good! It must have been good since my brother and mom requested a loaf each for themselves! Here is the recipe I used:

Healthy Banana Bread

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • dash of salt (optional)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk (I made my own by adding 1/4 t lemon juice to 1/4 cup skim milk and letting it stand for about 10 minutes)
  • 2-3 bananas, mashed

Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. This bread comes out very moist and not super dense like a lot of things baked with applesauce. As a general rule of thumb, I’ve found that applesauce or yogurt (especially Greek yogurt) can replace butter or oil in most baked good recipes, except for cookies. The texture is just nowhere near a normal cookie when the fats are replaced…my husband kindly refers to these as ‘mookies,’ a muffin in the form of a cookie!

Off of the lower fat/healthier side for a few moments: as mentioned in previous blogs, I am obsessed with peanut butter and was craving the amazing combination of peanut butter and chocolate (my peanut butter and jelly if you will)! So I decided to make chocolate peanut butter cookies with chopped up Reese’s peanut butter cups as chocolate chips. (yes, as I warned, not exactly ‘healthy’)! They turned out sooo good, very light and fluffy but surprisingly could have used a little more sugar in the dough but I was hesitant, thinking the peanut butter cups would be too rich…next time I’d increase the sugar by 1/4 cup at least. And I would even consider decreasing the butter to 3/4 cup since they were a little greasy and flattened out a bit.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 10 peanut butter cups, chopped up

Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Enjoy and try not to eat 6 of them right out of the oven as I did…more power to you if you are able to stop though!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

