Baking = My Therapy

I not only bake because I love it, but it is my zen time, my time for me, all to myself, to just do what I want to do and clear my head. Also, baking is much cheaper than a therapist! I use baking as a tool to overcome obstacles and challenges in life, and to get through the hard times.

My grandma passed away last Wednesday and we had the wake and funeral Sunday and Monday. Needless to say, I’ve been a baking machine. My poor husband has been surrounded by delicious baked goods for the past few days…which resulted in him and I eating an entire cake in less than two days…it’s fine! (Not only does the actual act of baking help, but devouring any form of chocolate surely never hurts)! I tried new recipes in an effort to have to concentrate and take my  mind off of things, instead of making things I have already baked that don’t require much focus. Here are a few of the ones I tested out:

Chocolate Oatmeal Cake:

  • 1 3/4 cups boiling water
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups flour, sifted
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • chopped chocolate

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  I tossed my oatmeal into a food processor for a few pulses to make smaller, finer flakes but that is up to you and how prominent you want the oatmeal to be in your cake! Put oatmeal into mixing bowl and pour boiling water over top (I used a tea kettle to boil the water), let stand 10 minutes or until oatmeal is softened and most of the liquid is absorbed. Add in sugars, applesauce and eggs. Mixing well with each addition. Sift together flour, soda, cocoa and salt. Add dry to wet ingredients, mix just until incorporated. Pour into greased pan (I used a 8×12 brownie pan). Top with chopped chocolate or chocolate chips if desired. Bake 20 minutes.

IMAG0310-1.jpg

This cake came out to be the perfect combination of a cake and a brownie! The oatmeal gives it this super chewy texture similar to a brownie.  Very moist, soft and tasty! Next time, I might add the chocolate chips into the batter and/or top it with some Nutella!

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins:

  • 1 stick butter, softened at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 t almond extract
  • 1 1/3 cups flour, sifted
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 2 1/2 T poppy seeds
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar together until smooth. Add in egg yolks, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add in almond extract, lemon zest and lemon juice. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, soda, powder, poppy seeds and salt. Add flour mixture, alternating with sour cream doing two of each, and ending with flour. In another bowl, beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold into batter. I used a jumbo muffin pan and baked them for 25 minutes.

IMAG0307-1.jpg

I think this was a hair too long and probably would should have pulled them a few minutes earlier, so I’d say to check them at 20 minutes. Also, I didn’t get too much lemon flavor so would probably suggest adding in the zest and juice of another lemon but that is up to you and your personal tastes!

Caramel Cake with Chocolate Ganache:

Cake:

  • Duncan Hines Caramel Cake Mix
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup coca cola
  • 1/3 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 3 eggs

Ganache:

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 9 ounces chocolate (I used chocolate almond World Famous Chocolate Bars)!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine buttermilk, cola, and oil. Add eggs in one at a time. Add in cake mix and stir just until blended. Pour into greased pan (I used two 9 inch round pans). Bake 25-28 minutes. While the cake is baking, heat whipping cream over medium-low until almost boiling. Pour over broken up chocolate, let sit 5 minutes, stir until smooth. Let cool and harden until ready to frost cake.

I know it sounds crazy to have soda in a cake but it is my secret ingredient when using store-bought mixes…it adds a nice moistness to the cake and you can’t taste it, I promise!

After this baking frenzy, I am feeling much better and am coping just fine…I miss my gram, but I know she is in a better place, one without pain and suffering and is finally reunited with my grandpa after 17 years! I know she is resting in peace and is finally happy! Love you ‘Frankster,’ always in my heart!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Brownies, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

