Schwedy Balls!

I’m not talking about the new Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream here but just about some cake balls I made over the weekend! We were out of town for our 14th and final wedding of 2011 this weekend while my best friend was getting proposed to! Not gonna lie…I’m relieved it’s finally over, the secret meetings and all the sneaking around has finally come to an end! Her fiance (love that I can call him that now) planned a little engagement get together last night and I decided to try a new recipe…inspired by the wedding we attended Saturday night where they served these amazingly delicious pecan peanut butter cake balls coated in chocolate! They were so good, it made me want to try and make my own! Having only gotten back into town a few hours before the party was supposed to take place, I may have ‘cheated’ a smidge and used a boxed cake mix for the cake portion. To my surprise, this did not cut down on the prep work much at all!

After doing some research on cake balls, I learned that most are just cake, combined with some sort of frosting or wet ingredient, rolled into a ball and coated with a hard coating. Seemed simple enough….so I decided to make three different types of balls: salted caramel, pumpkin pie caramel, and double dark chocolate caramel.  I first made the caramel cake according to the box directions, let it cool completely and then crumbled the cake into three separate bowls.

For the salted caramel balls: I heated up 2 T butter, 2 T heavy cream and 1/3 cup brown sugar in a saucepan until boiling and bubbly. Let it boil for a few minutes, removed it from the heat and added in 2/3 cup powdered sugar and a dash of vanilla.

For the pumpkin pie balls: I made a basic cream cheese frosting (4 oz. cream cheese, 2 T butter, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 T heavy cream, and a dash of vanilla) and added about 1/3 cup of pumpkin puree and dash of pumpkin pie spice to that.

For the double dark chocolate balls: I heated 1/3 cup of heavy cream and 2 T butter to a simmer then poured the hot cream over a bowl filled with chopped dark chocolate (I used Ghiradelli because it’s my favorite).

I combined the each bowl of crumbled cake with one of the frostings and mixed them until incorporated but still somewhat crumbly. I stuck them in the fridge for a about an hour and half so they can harden up a bit. (I may have overdone the pumpkin pie ball, leaving it a little more ‘wet’ than desired…I am going to throw these in the freezer though and see what happens…I will keep you all updated! Once chilled enough so they wouldn’t break, I rolled the balls in the same recipe I used for the double dark chocolate ball frosting recipe and stuck them all back in the fridge. The outside coating didn’t harden as much as I hoped it would, so next time I would probably use a different recipe, probably just melted chocolate all by itself!

This is just the beginning of my relationship with cake balls…there are so many different things you can do with them, I am itching to try some more!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

