Bake Shop Cookies!

My cousin had a gorgeous baby girl October 21, 2011…she may be a tiny little thing but she is perfect! I finally made my way over to meet the little peanut in person yesterday and decided to bring over some fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies! I tried out a new recipe, and they ended up being the best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever made…beating my old tried and true recipe I used to bake religiously! I cannot thank my old colleague and friend enough for the outline for this recipe! This recipe produces, in my opinion, the best textured cookie ever (I’m talking bake shop good…hence the name I gave this recipe)…what I’ve been searching for and experimenting to get for ages now; a slightly crunchy exterior giving way to a chewy, soft and moist middle. They even looked like they came out of a package…however I of course forgot to take a picture…no worries though, I will definitely be baking these again soon!

Bake Shop Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Barely adapted from Anna Olson, Food Network Canada

  • 3/4 cup salted, butter, room temp (if you use unsalted, just add about 1/4 – 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • chocolate chips, to taste (I love chocolatey cookies so I use an entire bag)
And just for fun, the old recipe I used to use, uses a ‘secret ingredient’ of vanilla instant pudding. These cookies are definitely very good as well, very soft and chewy but not the same texture as the new recipe, which I just love so much!
Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies:
  • 1 cup salted butter, softened (same as above, add salt if you use unsalted butter)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 pkg. vanilla instant pudding
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • chocolate chips
I will definitely still make these from time to time just because I’ve been making them this way for so long now, I can’t abandon this recipe completely! This recipe is delicious however, very soft cookies, no crunch when you bite into them really at all…just very light and fluffy! Enjoy, and if you make either or both, let me know what you think!!
About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

