Sweet vs. Sour!

Off of the pumpkin trend for just long enough to try something I’ve never tried before! I was home alone and bored Monday night and forgot that I bought a bundle of red grapes a while back and didn’t want them to go to waste…so I decided to put them into a muffin. I’ve never had nor seen a bakery product with grapes but I figured we use every other fruit to bake: blueberries, strawberries, apples, bananas, etc, why not grapes? Grapes have both a sweet and sour component to them, which is such a wonderful combination in the baking world! When coming up with a recipe to use, I took into consideration that grapes have a little more juice and wetness than other fruits used in baking so I adjusted a smidge for that so my muffins didn’t come out super dense or too moist. Here’s what I came up with:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 dark brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups grapes, seeded and chopped
Follow a basic recipe of combining the wet and dry ingredients separately and then sprinkle the grapes with a pinch of flour and fold into the batter. You can use any kind of sugar and milk you prefer. I went with dark brown sugar because I really like its strong flavor and thought it would balance out the sourness of the grapes and buttermilk. If you go with white sugar, I would consider adding an extra tablespoon or even quarter cup just to make sure it is sweet enough! And I went with buttermilk to bring out the sourness of the grapes but regular milk would do as well!
IMAG0191-1.jpg                                                                     IMAG0192-1.jpg
They came out a little on the dry side for my preferences so next time I would decrease the flour by 1/4 cup and see if that makes any difference, otherwise the flavor was great. The sweet and sour were balanced nicely however it was difficult to pinpoint any real grape flavor. Josh is not a fan of grapes at all so I told Josh to eat one before telling him what was in them, but this obviously swayed him into knowing that it was something he ‘shouldn’t like.’ He assumed it was bran or raisins (another two on his do not eat list)…but still ate a few regardless…so they couldn’t have been that bad! He agreed with me about the dryness though and thought it was because they were ‘bran muffins!’ Just to share a quick, humorous and somewhat related story, Josh is the king of placebo (I probably could have just told him  I made blueberry muffins and he would have loved them, lol)…I gave Josh a handful of vitamins before bed one night and upon waking in the morning he mentioned how well he slept and said it must have been that 5-HTP I have been giving him…to his surprise, I never gave him any 5-HTP! Ok, one more…one morning after drinking a little too much, he asked for two Aleve, I gave them to him and continued on with my business…about 45 minutes later he mentioned how much better he felt and that his headache was completely gone….unbeknownst to him, he left the Aleve sitting on the kitchen table and never even took them! Ok enough fun, he’s a good sport though and laughs every time I bring these up…I still laugh out loud thinking about them!
About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  2. Magnificent site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you in your sweat!

Leave a Reply

