Stuffed Up!

As mentioned last blog, I bought a few pie pumpkins with the intention of stuffing them for dinner and finally did so last night! I modified one of Josh’s family recipes and they turned out perfectly! I tried to make these once last year and neither Josh nor I liked them very much, so we were skeptical going in…very happy with the way they ended up! Unfortunately I forgot to take a pic of them before diving in….it’s ok though, just an excuse to have to make them again soon!!

Here is the recipe we used:

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 package mushrooms
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, crushed/diced
  • 1 can cream of mushroom
  • 4 T soy sauce
  • 1-2  T Worcestershire
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1 t cayenne
  • dash or two of oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked rice (I used the Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice that you microwave for 90 seconds)!
  • 1 (8-oz.) can water chestnuts, diced
  • Gruyère cheese, shredded
  • 3-4 pie pumpkins
We got home kind of late last night and these usually take 45 minutes – 1 hour to bake so to speed up the process, I threw the cleaned out, cut pumpkins in the microwave for about 12 minutes to soften them up and decrease the baking time (I also sprinkled some salt and pepper on the inside of the pumpkin). While the pumpkins were in the micro, I sautéed the onions and mushrooms in some olive oil until they began to soften, then added in the garlic. Let that saute until fragrant and added the ground meat and cooked through. Depending on how lean the meat you use is, you can either drain the meat or leave the fat for extra flavor…I used 90% lean meat so I didn’t drain off the fat. Once no longer pink, I added in the cream of mushroom soup, soy sauce, Worcestershire, brown sugar, cayenne, oregano, salt and pepper and let that simmer for about 10 minutes. I then added in the rice and cheese and let the cheese melt down before scooping the meat mixture into the pumpkins and topping with more cheese before baking at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. I only had two pie pumpkins so I baked the extra meat casserole in two ramekins topped with cheese.
The result was very flavorful and moist. The meat casserole part was very good on its own however, it was especially delicious when scooped with some of the pumpkin! Here is where I really wish I had a picture to share with you guys…but I promise to make them again soon and post one! Better late than never right?!
I stole the pic from my brother, he made these the other night with a few tweaks of his own! He omitted the mushrooms (he’s ‘allergic’) and used carrots and celery instead and used cream of mushroom and chicken instead of cream of mushroom. He said they were absolutely delicious and he’d definitely make them again!
About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Beef, Non-Bakery Items. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I wish more men and women would write blogs like this that are actually beneficial to read. With all of the rubbish floating around on the net, it is refreshing to read a blog like yours instead.

Leave a Reply

