Pumpkin Tiers!

The obsession with pumpkin continues! Josh coaches a hockey team and they are having a parent party tonight I am tagging along to, so I decided to bring something festive…tis the pumpkin season after all! My grandma makes a delicious pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting so I stole her recipe for this! It is super easy to make and one of the most moist cakes I’ve ever had! I frequently request this for family gatherings, even when it’s not even close to the fall pumpkin season! Gotta love gram though because she’ll do it anyways!

  • 1 box yellow or white cake mix
  • 1 (4-oz.) package vanilla instant pudding
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 1 T pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 t vanilla
IMAG0185-1.jpg

The basic recipe calls for a box of white or yellow cake mix, but you can make your own by combining 2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour, 2 cups             sugar, 1/2 cup dried milk powder, 1 t baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda, however using a box mix works just as well! I used 2 8-inch round cake     pans and baked them at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

To make the cream cheese frosting, whip 1 (8-oz.) package of cream cheese with 2 cups of powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla; add a tablespoon of milk     at a time until reaching desired spreading consistency (so easy and so delicious….everything should be topped with this)!

After Josh and I each had one piece!

Just went to the grocery store yesterday and bought a few pie pumpkins and some ground beef so look for a stuffed pumpkin recipe coming soon!!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I?m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that?s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the problem is something that not sufficient people are talking intelligently about. I am very blissful that I stumbled across this in my seek for something referring to this.

Leave a Reply

