Peppery!

We picked a few ripened hot peppers from our lovely garden Tuesday morning and didn’t want them to go to waste so Josh requested chili for dinner last night! I decided to let it simmer all day in the crock pot to give the flavors a chance to really meld together and let the spice come through. Tuesday night I prepared the meat, browning it with some diced green pepper, onion, garlic, jalapeno and Habanero peppers (all peppers courtesy of our patio garden). Once cooked through, I added a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce (and about 3/4 full can of water), a can each of red and black beans, 8 tablespoons of chili powder, 2 1/2 teaspoons of each cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, oregano, paprika, salt and pepper (and obviously all of these can be tweeked to personal preferences). I also added in about a teaspoon of cayenne for extra kick (probably completely unnecessary in retrospect, but oh well)! This was for two pounds of 85/25 ground beef. After it cooled down, I left it in the fridge over night and then threw everything in the crock pot the next morning and let it cook on low for about 8 hours. Traditionally in my family, whenever we ate chili, we always put it over spaghetti noodles and topped it with cheddar cheese. I know, I know, us Italians and our breads/pastas, having to be present somehow at every meal of the day! It seemed very strange to me whenever I’d eat chili anywhere else and there would be no pasta, now I realize we were in fact the odd ones! My husband is now a huge fan of this though and also won’t eat chili any other way, so it’s worth giving it a try! I guess it’s our take on good ole fashioned chili mac, chili over mac and cheese…never a bad choice! Anyways, the chili did turn out to be quite spicy, so our garden produced some very useful peppers as we loooove spice in our house! Coming home to an already prepared, ready to eat meal is always a bonus in my book!

And of course, as is the norm, every meal must include dessert to be considered a full meal! So I tried my hand at a German Chocolate cake, something new and different! The inspiration came from my best friend Emily’s birthday party back in May…she had requested a German Chocolate cake and it was absolutely delicious (and ginormous to boot)! There’s a good chance she still has some stashed away in her freezer…she has a bit more restraint than me!

IMAG0130-1.jpg

Not too shabby for a first attempt!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Beef, Non-Bakery Items, Soups/Stews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

