How Sweet it is!

It may have taken me a few weeks, but I finally baked my very first flourless chocolate cake! It could not have been any easier and it turned out fabulous, so good that I’m not even sure what modifications I’d make for the next try! Also so good that my husband and I accidentally ate 5 servings apiece! I poured the batter into two ramekins to bake individual cakes for him and I, not knowing that it should have served 8-10 if baked in an 8-inch spring-form pan…oops…well worth it though! All I did was melt 8 ounces of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips with 1 stick of butter in a double boiler, once melted, whisked in 3/4 cup sugar. Let it cool a smidge, then beat in 3 eggs, one at a time (rapidly so you don’t up with chocolate scrambled eggs)! Finally, I whisked in 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and poured the batter into 2 large ramekins and baked at 375 for about 25 minutes, until the top began to crack a little.

Even the batter tasted amazing!!

The final product turned out to be more of a combination between a flourless chocolate cake and a molten lava cake with a soft, gooey center! It was so rich and delicious though, I almost thought I wouldn’t be able to finish the entire thing! I did however, take a small 30 minute break and came back strong to finish off the last quarter or so! Ice cream was definitely not necessary but it help cut the richness, I think having any sort of frosting would have made this almost too indulgent! The middle being somewhat liquidy with a frosting would have been too much, but I’d be willing to try it! Next time I think I will use dark chocolate chips and dark chocolate cocoa powder and maybe a bit more sugar, about a cup or so!

Heaven!!

If you are a die hard chocolate lover like myself, this is the recipe for you!! I always hear people describe decadent desserts as ‘too rich,’ but I’ve yet to personally encounter one…I will admit that this would have to be the closest one so far though!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Cakes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This looks delicious, my Grandma is gluten intolerant so its perfect for her!

  2. Great photos, looks really lovely! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

