Let’s Tango!

I am excited to announce that I can now check another item off of my ‘things to do before I die list!’ After years of wanting to eat at Tango Sur and making numerous attempts to get a reservation, I have finally accomplished what I deemed to be the impossible! Now to those who live in Chicago and have eaten there with no problems are probably wondering what I am talking about and why it has been so hard, so let me explain….for starters, this is a tiny BYOB Argentinean restaurant located in a popular area of downtown Chicago that does not take reservations. Being BYOB means that when I finally ate there, I wanted it to be on a weekend where I can take full advantage of wine drinking (unfortunately I do not have one of those jobs where I can stumble in to work, hungover, and just make it through the day….although I’m not opposed so if anyone wants to offer me one of those, that’d be great)! Secondly, the no reservations issue, I called two weeks in advance one time for a Friday night reservation for a group of 6 and the person on the other end of the line actually laughed out loud at me before promptly hanging up…annoying.  Finally, this place usually has around a two hour wait for weekend nights….this is something my impatience and starvation would never be able to handle. I would never be able to time that out right nor would I ever want to wait that long to eat! So about a week ago, I decided I couldn’t stand it any longer and called the restaurant just to see what could be done…lucky for me I got a super nice guy on the other end who offered to put my name on the waiting list for Friday night at 7 pm! Being put on the list meant a guarantee of less than a 20 minute wait.  Knowing that I’d finally get the opportunity to eat there, I was kind of nervous…had I been building this place up for so long now that it would just fall flat of any expectations and be a complete let down? Could it really be as good as everyone says? The answer was very simple, yes, it really is that good!

We started out by trying all of their empanadas, which were amazing! So soft and doughy with ample fillings including: spinach and cheese, ham and cheese, chicken, beef and corn. They were all great, Josh’s favorite was the chicken, however I was unable to pick one and wanted another round of them all! We also ordered the Proveleta, provolone cheese, grilled with olive oil, roasted red peppers and garlic. Ah-mazing! It came to our table on this enormous platter sized plate of melty, gooey cheese which we ate with the bread they provide for every table. The saltiness of the cheese with the sweetness of the peppers was divine (warning: you must be a cheese lover to enjoy such a rich dish…but then again, who isn’t)?! For our entrée, we ordered the Lomo Relleno: half slab of Argentinean filet filled with chimchurri, ham and served with a portabella mushroom sauce. Not the most appealing looking dish but definitely one of the most decadent and delicious I’ve ever had! And boy was it enormous…this was the first time Josh and I have ever had to take leftovers home from a restaurant, ever! And being BYOB, the final bill was amazingly cheap compared to most downtown restaurants! I cannot wait to go back here, it was one of the better meals I’ve had in the city thus far, I highly recommend it to all!

IMG_20110902_194806.jpg

As I said, not the most attractive looking...and this was over half gone already!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Restaurants/Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

