Shepherd’s Pie

Ever since our honeymoon, I have a new found love for Shepherd’s pie! I know how crazy that sounds since our honeymoon was in St. Lucia! But they had this authentic Irish pub in one of the resorts we stayed at that made the most delicious creation I’ve ever had! I’d only had Shepherd’s pie a few times prior to this experience though, so it may not be the best ever by any means but it sure was damn good! Last night was my third attempt at making my own, but it is never as good…it tastes somewhat bland. This time I even made my own mashed potatoes and used ground lamb instead of ground beef and it was the best I’ve made so far, but am still looking to improve. I am writing this blog asking for anyone that has a recipe they’d like to share? Here’s the recipe I came up with:

2 T olive oil

1.25 lbs ground lamb 

1 small onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

Salt and pepper to taste

1 T thyme, dried

3 large carrots, diced

1/2 bag frozen peas, thawed

2 T butter

1 cup red wine

2 T flour

1 cup beef stock

3 T ketchup

3 T worchestire sauce

Frank’s Red Hot, quite a few ‘dashes’

I sauteed the carrots in the oil until softened, added in the onions, garlic and eventually the lamb, seasoning with salt, pepper and thyme. I drained the fat, added the peas and butter and then the flour once the butter melted. I let the flour cook for a few minutes, then added the red wine, ketchup, worchestire and Frank’s and let that reduce down a bit before adding the beef stock, then just let it simmer and thicken into a gravy type sauce. Once thickened, I dumped it into a casserole dish and topped with the homemade mashed potatoes and sprinkled them with a little parmesan cheese for browning and baked at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.

On a side note, the homemade mashed potatoes came out deliciously! While waiting for 6 cubed Russet potatoes to come to a boil and soften, I heated a half cup of milk and 1/4 cup butter over low heat in a small sauce pan with a clove of minced garlic. Once the potatoes were done, I mashed them with a fork and added in the milk/butter mixture, salt, pepper and a touch of cream. I would have been happy eating these alone!

So for next time, I think I’ll make a few more changes…I think I will use tomato paste or puree instead of ketchup, use fresh thyme (figures, the only herb that is not in our patio garden) and reduce the wine a little. There was a very strong wine taste, even from only using 1 cup. I am also toying with the idea of adding in some cheddar cheese, either into the meat mixture and/or into the mashed potatoes. This is unless of course someone has their own recipe they’d like to share, in which case, I’ll try theirs instead!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Beef, Non-Bakery Items. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love Sheperd’s Pie! However my version is not nearly as detailed as yours. I have had it with cheddar cheese melted on top of the potatoes, add it on top the last 5 min or so you cook it.

  2. Thank you for taking time to write down this write-up. It’s been rather valuable. It could not have come at a far better time for me!

  3. I love your recipe, I also add squash,zucchini and greenbeans to mine. I love more veggies than meat.

Leave a Reply

