Holy Zucchini!

The other weekend while visiting my family, my mom sent me back with a giant zucchini, like massive! It was so big that I was brainstorming recipes that utilize zucchini the entire drive home! Every  meal last week consisted of zucchini in some way, shape or form! One night it was battered and fried, another it was roasted, the next it was made into a fritter and lastly baked into a quick bread! Finally, I ran out of zucchini, only to come into work yesterday to a generous patient that happened to bring me one of her own that she grew! So starts the zucchini train all over again! Of course, I will always make muffins or another bread, but what else can I do with zucchini?! So I am turning to you guys for ideas….please send me your favorite zucchini recipes, I’d love to try something new and different!

IMAG0123-1.jpg

I wasn't kidding!!

I am going to share my zucchini bread recipe with you guys here since it turned out so delicious:

  • 3 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-3 cups zucchini, shredded
You can doctor it up by adding chocolate chips, shredded carrot, nuts, lemon, etc!
On another note, we hit up a tapas restaurant last night to help a friend say good-bye to the city of Chicago. I have to say, this was my third tapas experience and I’m just not a big fan! The thing about me and tapas is that it’s just not enough food, that is unless you order majority of the menu and spend $100! All three experiences turned out the same, spent over $50 and walked out still hungry! Our group ended up heading to Heaven on Seven with the intention of getting dessert and ended up ordering appetizers along with the cake, so it must not have been just me that walked out hungry! The food itself was delicious, everything we ate last night was very good, and if you are a small portions type person, Cafe Iberico is a great choice! But for those with an appetite, I’d recommend just heading straight to Heaven on Seven for some fried jalapeno cornbread blasters and some jambalaya or brisket! And then follow that up with the chocolate peanut butter pie or deep chocolate pecan pie! Just sayin!
Back Side of M Pie
About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Bakery/Dessert Recipes, Breads/Muffins, Restaurants/Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. And the powder they put on top is delicious and mysterious, lol!

Leave a Reply

