Big Willy Style!

Unfortunately I have nothing new on my quest to make the best flourless chocolate cake ever! There has yet to be any attempt at all actually, mostly due to a super fun, busy weekend…one of the best I’ve had while living in Chicago! It ended perfectly Sunday night where we ate at a place called Fat Willy’s Rib Shack, a barbecue restaurant in Bucktown! I love barbecue so this was right up my alley. The place was crowded enough for us to have to wait 20 minutes at 8:00 on a Sunday night…impressive yes, annoying, absolutely! On every table they had two different kinds of barbecue sauces (one regular and one spicy), a barbecue vinegar sauce and a roll of paper towels, key for any barbecue joint! We started with an order of their fried jalapeno corn fritters, I was not impressed….the fritters themselves were dry (even though they were dripping in oil) and flavorless…I wouldn’t have even eaten them if it weren’t for the delicious sauce accompanying them. The waitress was kind enough to leave the left over sauce at our table so I could dip my fries in it, definitely earning her some brownie points! I ended up finally deciding on the pulled chicken sandwich and Josh went with the ribs. He was able to order the cornbread as a side, which I have slight obsession with so was delighted…that was until it arrived! Again, like the fritters, it was dry, flaky and severely lacking in flavor….not very appetizing at all if it weren’t for the honey butter it was served with…another point for the sauces! I slathered my pulled chicken in the spicy barbecue sauce and it was absolutely delicious…moist, smokey, and slightly spicy with a twang! Overall, I would recommend this restaurant, just be sure to stick to the barbecue, it’s what they do best!

And since I can’t tell you about something I baked, I will tell you about the delicious dinner Josh and I cooked last night! I had just bought some fresh chicken breasts from the butcher and wanted to use them right away so we decided to stuff them! I grabbed a log of goat cheese, a bag of spinach and sautéed some diced up onions and garlic in olive oil. I added the spinach at the end and removed everything from the heat as soon as the spinach began to wilt. In the meantime, Josh pounded down the chicken breasts into nice, flat, even pieces, spread them with a nice helping of goat cheese and sprinkled that with some fresh basil and parsley. We topped this with the spinach mixture and he rolled them up, and sealed the edges with toothpicks so wouldn’t lose any of the goodness during cooking (what teamwork). We seasoned the chicken itself with garlic salt and pepper, seared them in an oiled/heated cast iron skillet on one side, flipped them and threw them in the oven to finish baking (350 degrees for about 30 minutes). Josh pointed out that a sauce would really tie the dish together (we watch a lot of chopped and iron chef where this is constantly etched into our heads)! A lemon white wine sauce came to mind, thinking the acidity from the lemon and the sweetness from the wine would pair perfectly with the goat cheese and fresh herbs. So again, I started by sauteing some chopped onions and garlic in olive oil until softened. I then added about half a cup of white wine, deglazed the pan and added about a cup of chicken broth. I let it come to a boil before simmering and adding some grated lemon zest, fresh rosemary and parsley. After it simmered for a few minutes, I added a few tablespoons of butter and let it thicken up until the chicken was ready. Paired with pan-fried squash and brussels sprouts, this was one amazing home-made dinner, one that will definitely be repeated! Dessert was, albeit tasty, sadly nothing too special…a few warmed Ghiradelli dark chocolate brownies covered in store-bought chocolate peanut butter (me) and coffee (Josh) ice cream! Dinner ended a bit too late to begin the flourless chocolate cake journey, so maybe next time, hopefully!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Restaurants/Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You need to open a restaurant!

Leave a Reply

