Saucy!

Last night Josh and I decided to grill some rib-eyes but wanted to do something different than our usual preparation of garlic salt, cayenne pepper and sauteed mushrooms.
We both love blue cheese and every time we eat at a steakhouse, I always order the blue cheese crust! So I decided to attempt to make my own mushroom, blue cheese sauce! The sauce came out soooo delicious, we decided that we are never eating steaks without it again! It was so good I felt I needed to share so here’s what I did:

I sauteed half a chopped onion and a few cloves of chopped garlic in some butter until softened and then added in the mushrooms for about  5 -7 minutes. I then added a few splashes of marsala wine to deglaze the pan, being sure to scrape up any browned bits that stuck to the bottom. I then added about 3/4 cup of beef broth and brought that to a boil and then let it simmer for a bit until it was thick enough to coat the back of the spatula (about 5 minutes or so). Once thick enough, I added in 8 ounces of crumbled blue cheese, let it melt down and then seasoned with salt and pepper to taste!

Hope you enjoy!!

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on July 26, 2011, in Beef, Non-Bakery Items, Sauces. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

