Li/ove to Eat

Buon giorno, my name is Val and I am self-proclaimed food junkie from Chicago. I started this blog as a means to do something I love the most: talk about food! It has been brought to my attention, sadly, numerous times now, how my Facebook page is consumed with comments about food, cooking, eating, etc! This gives me a bit more “counterspace” to elaborate on those posts!

I grew up in a traditional Italian household where food was the center of all family gatherings. It brought us all together regularly and keeps us together today.  I had my first baking experience before the age of 3, thanks to my Grandma Rae! She used to let me roll out the dough, decorate cookies, control the mix-master, etc! These are some of my dearest memories, ones I will cherish forever. Thanks to my Gram, my passion is baking and literally, every night, I can be found in my kitchen trying to create something to satisfy my post-dinner sweet tooth!  I am always looking for new recipes to try and am willing to share as many of mine as possible, including numerous secrets of a real Italian Grandmother.

Here is a picture of my brother (age 5) and I (age 3) helping Gram bake! Val 3

Since I’ve been baking/cooking for almost 27 years now, I have had my share of disasters and things haven’t always turned out the way I planned! After all, cooking is a learning process, and I hope by reading this blog, you can learn from my mistakes and together we can make some delicious vittles!

To kick things off, here are a few of my favorite quotes about food:

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”  ~Julia Child

“It’s a way to connect to one’s ancestors and tell a story or a family narrative, or to manage bereavement. In other words, food can be who you are, what you want to remember, what you hope for, and what you’ve lost.”  ~Women’s Health Magazine, Why We Love Food

“If God had intended us to follow recipes, He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.”  ~Linda Henley

“No man in the world has more courage than the man who can stop after eating one peanut.”  ~Channing Pollo

About valuptuousvittles

I am a chiropractor with a passion for eating, baking and wine! It seems that my life is consumed by food, whereas most people eat to live, I live to eat!

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Gram would be proud, if only she had a computer!!!

Leave a Reply

